Winners of the 2018 Palette Poetry Prize


Thank you to each and every submitter of our inaugural Palette Poetry Prize. The selection process was difficult in the most joyful way—so many exceptional poets and exceptional poems to choose from. From the whole Palette team: we are sincerely grateful for your sweat and courage and your words.


It is an honor and a privilege to share the winners of the 2018 Palette Poetry Prize, as selected from our finalists by Shane McCrae:



torrin a. greathouse for her poem, “Hapnophobia or the Fear of Being Touched” (to be published Dec. 17)


madison eli johnson for their poem “west harlem, july 2017” (to be published Dec. 12)


Brittany Leitner for her poem “Liberosis” (to be published Dec. 10)