2022 Previously Published Poem Prize: Winners & Finalists


We are delighted to share the winners, finalists, and longlist of the 2022 Previously Published Poem Prize! Please join us in congratulating these remarkable poets. Deep gratitude to all who shared powerful, moving poems with us—we are so lucky to have been immersed in the worlds of your work. The winning poems were chosen by the editors and will be published next week. 

Winners of the 2022 Previously Published Poem Prize

1st place — K. Iver for “Who Is This Grief For?”

K. Iver is a trans nonbinary poet from Mississippi. Their work has appeared in or is forthcoming in Boston Review, TriQuarterly, BOAAT, Gulf Coast, Puerto del Sol, Salt Hill, and elsewhere. They are the 2021-2022 Ronald Wallace Poetry Fellow for the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing. They have a Ph.D. in Poetry at Florida State University.

2nd place — Shakthi Shrima for “Self-Portrait in Lust”

Shakthi Shrima’s work appears or is forthcoming in Triquarterly, Copper Nickel, Best New Poets, The Journal, The Collagist, Ninth Letter, and BOAAT, amongst others. Shakthi Shrima appears in Zoom calls from the neck up. She is forthcoming.

3rd place — Sneha Subramanian Kanta for “Partition Homes”

Sneha Subramanian Kanta is a recipient of the the 2021 Robert Hayden Scholarship at Stockton University. She has been awarded the inaugural Vijay Nambisan Fellowship 2019. She was the Charles Wallace Fellow writer-in-residence (2019-20) at The University of Stirling. An awardee of the GREAT scholarship, she has earned a second postgraduate degree in literature from The University of Plymouth (2017). She is the author of the chapbook Ghost Tracks (Louisiana Literature Press, 2020). Her poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Asian American Writers Workshop, Pleaides, The Carolina Quarterly, and elsewhere. She is the founding editor of Parentheses Journal. Website: www.snehasubramaniankanta.com.


Derek Chan

Kimberly Nguyễn

Darnell Carson

Hera Naguib

Makshya Tolbert

Bernard Ferguson

Maya Salameh



Aidan Forster

Brandon Melendez

Shaina Phenix

Marissa Davis

Anoushka Subbaiah

Carlos Andrés Goméz

Shay X Gee

Candria Slamin

Melanie Reitzel

Rhiannon McGavin

Ayesha Asad

Conor Bracken

Emily Ransdell

Adrienne Crezo

Stacy Boe Miller

Lizabeth Yandel

Diana Whitney

Rachel Abramowitz

Sheleen McElhinney

Jean Harper

Brad Aaron Modlin

Eduardo Martinez-Leyva

Avia Tadmor

Anna Claire Hodge

Lucia Dawes Durneen

Marcus Jamison

Tyler Allen Penny

Chace Morris

Dan Grossman

Maria Luisa Arroyo Cruzado

Chelsey Shannon

Adelina Rose Gowans

Shira Abramovich

Jose Reyes